Emerging Economists

Emerging Economist Series, 2016/17

The Emerging Economist Series is a unique professional development opportunity now in its seventh year. It involves six luncheons, held at the Reserve Bank of Australia in Sydney, where young economists have the opportunity to discuss critical issues with prominent Australian policymakers, as well as network with colleagues in business, academia and the public service.  The luncheons include an interview-style discussion with Australia’s foremost policymakers and economists, exploring the issues they have faced during their careers and highlighting Australia’s key economic challenges going forward. 

Subscription is for one person to attend all six lunches in the Series – this can be shared with your colleagues.

Two or more registrations - $660 per person | Individual registration - $880


Liza Carver - Thursday 1 September 2016
Dr John Hewson - Thursday 20 October 2016
David Murray AO - Tuesday 8 November 2017
Professor Fred Hilmer AO - Friday 10 March 2017
Gigi Foster - Wednesday 29 March 2017
Ian Macfarlane AC - Friday 28 April 2017



Speakers 2016/17

Liza Carver has over 25 years’ experience working at the intersection of economics and the law as a senior partner in global law firms, currently Herbert Smith Freehills. Between 1993 and 1999 Liza was an Associate Commissioner with the Trade Practices Commission and the ACCC.  Between 2005 and 2009 Liza was one of the three inaugural Commissioners of the Australian Energy Markets Commission (AEMC) having previously been a member of IPART.   Liza  specialises in access, competition and economic regulation of infrastructure; investigations and legal actions by the ACCC in the energy, transport, manufacturing, retail and communications industries; and market power issues.  Thursday 1 September 2016

 Dr Gigi Foster is an Associate Professor with the School of Economics at the University of New South Wales, having received her BA from Yale majoring in Ethics, Politics, and Economics, and her PhD in Economics from the University of Maryland.  She works in many literatures, including education, social influence, corruption, lab experiments, and time use.  With support from the Australian Research Council and other bodies, she published a holistic behavioral economics treatise with Cambridge University Press (An Economic Theory of Greed, Love, Groups, and Networks, joint with Paul Frijters) in 2013 and has authored over 25 academic papers published in a wide variety of economic and multidisciplinary outlets such as Journal of Public Economics, Quantitative Economics, Human Relations, and Journal of Economic Psychology.  Her work touching on Australian policy has appeared in national and international media outlets and informed public debates, and she has served the profession in a variety of roles such as ARC Expert Assessor, National Economics Learning Standards Working Party member, and as the most junior female member of Australia’s National Economic Panel.  Wednesday 29 March 2017

Dr John Hewson is an economist who has been at the heart of Australian academia, business, government, media and the financial life for over four decades. As an economist he has worked for the Australian Treasury, RBA, IMF, UNSW, ANU and as an advisor to two successive Federal Treasurers and the Prime Minister.   As a Federal Parliamentarian he was Member for Wentworth, Shadow Finance Minister, Shadow Treasurer and Shadow Minister for Industry and Commerce, as well as Leader of the Liberal Party and the Opposition from 1990 to 1994. Post politics, Dr. Hewson's activities have included acting as a Chairman and Director of numerous public and private companies such as ABN AMRO, the Macquarie Graduate School of Management, the Asset Owners Disclosure Project and Not for Profit organisations.   He has a particular focus on Asia,  is a strong supporter of the Not for Profit sector and has been committed to environmental issues since meeting former US vice president and climate campaigner Al Gore. He is a prominent media commentator and writes a regular opinion column for the Australian Financial Review. Thursday 20 October 2016

Professor Fred Hilmer AO has held numerous leadership roles in industry and academia, including heading McKinsey’s Australian practice, Chief Executive of Fairfax, Dean of the AGSM and most recently President and Vice Chancellor of UNSW. He has also served as a Chair, Deputy Chair and Director of major public companies. He has written a number of books and articles on strategy, management and economic policy. Professor Hilmer chaired the National Competition Policy Inquiry, which reported in 1993, and provided the framework and approach to competition policy in Australia, as well as other jurisdictions. Since that time he has been an active writer and commentator on competition policy. His contributions in these fields were recognized by the award of Officer of the Order of Australia in 1998.  Friday 10 March 2017

David Murray AO joined the Commonwealth Bank in 1966, was appointed Chief Executive Officer in June 1992, and retired from this position in 2005.  In November 2005 the Australian Government announced that Mr. Murray would be Chairman of the Future Fund.  His statutory term ended in April 2012.  In November 2013 Mr. Murray was appointed to head the Government's inquiry into Australia's financial system. The inquiry made recommendations to foster an efficient, competitive and flexible financial system, consistent with financial stability, prudence, integrity and fair treatment.  Mr. Murray is a member of the Oliver Wyman Senior Advisory Board and Senior Advisor to Credit Suisse.  He has previously served as a member of the Finance Sector Advisory Council and was the inaugural Chair of the International Forum of Sovereign Wealth Funds.  He is Chair of the Butterfly Foundation, dedicated to addressing eating disorders in Australia.  In 2001, he was awarded the Centenary Medal for service to Australian Society in banking and corporate governance and, in 2007, he was made an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO).  Mr. Murray holds a Bachelor of Business and a Master of Business Administration.  He holds an honorary Ph.D. from Macquarie University and the University of Technology, Sydney. Tuesday 8 November 20176

Ian Macfarlane AC  was Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 1996 to 2006, and inaugural Chairman of the Council of Financial Regulators. Prior to joining the Reserve Bank, he had worked at Monash University, the Institute for Economics and Statistics at Oxford University, and at the OECD in Paris. Since leaving the Reserve Bank, he has served on several Australian public company boards, been a member of the International Advisory Boards of Goldman Sachs, and the China Banking Regulatory Commission, and become a Professorial Fellow at Melbourne University and the Melbourne Business School. Mr Macfarlane was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and has been the recipient of honorary doctorates from five Australian universities.  In 2006 he delivered the Boyer Lectures. He has been a director of the Lowy Institute since its inception.









Emerging Economists

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia